Saint Joseph’s Seven Sorrows and Seven Joys Devotion & the Seven Sundays Devotion

An effective means of obtaining special graces through the intercession of Saint Joseph is to honor his seven sorrows and seven joys by the practicing the Seven Sundays devotion.

The Seven Sundays in honor of Saint Joseph are observed by receiving Holy Communion in his honor on seven consecutive Sundays, and on each Sunday the prayers in honor of the Seven Sorrows and the Seven Joys of Saint Joseph are recited. This devotion may be practiced at any time of the year, but especially on the seven Sundays preceding his solemnity on March 19th.

Saint Joseph’s Seven Sorrows

  1. The doubt of St Joseph
    Matthew 1:19
  2. The poverty of Jesus birth
    Luke 2:7
  3. The Circumcision
    Luke 2:21
  4. The Prophecy of Simeon
    Luke 2:34
  5. The flight into Egypt
    Matthew 2:14
  6. The return from Egypt
    Matthew 2:22
  7. The loss of the child Jesus
    Luke 2:45

Saint Joseph’s Joys

  1. The message of the Angel
    Matthew 1:20
  2. The birth of the Savior
    Luke 2:10-11
  3. The Holy Name of Jesus
    Matthew 1:25
  4. The effects of the Redemption
    Luke 2:38
  5. The overthrow of the idols of Egypt
    Is. 19:1
  6. Life with Jesus and Mary at Nazareth
    Luke 2:39
  7. Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple
    Luke 2:46